italy cbHistory

The Italy national team have represented themselves in all ICC Europe events since the inaugural European Championships… of the few countries to have been a permanent presence in that period

Italy are now in the ascendancy and performing to a very high level, as a string of fantastic World Cricket League events indicate. Having hosted the Division 4 Championship in 2011 (Bologna played host to 5 other teams), they finished second to earn promotion to Division 3 later that year. Their 4th place finish in that event in Singapore secured their Division 4 status for another year.

However, perhaps Italy’s finest hour in international cricket to date has been the 2012 World Twenty20 Qualifier, in the UAE. An encouraging start to this tournament included wins over Oman (9 wickets) and United States (8 runs), meaning at one stage a dream scenario of making the full World T20 event in Sri Lanka was possible. However losing narrowly to Ireland (2 wickets) and more comprehensively against Kenya (7 wickets), meant a mid-table finish was the result. This should still be considerred an amazing achievment, given the wealth and experience of many of the more fancied nations.

Tournament History

World Cricket League

ICC Trophy

  • 1997: equal 21st place

European Championship

  • 1996: 7th place
  • 1998: 5th place
  • 2000: 5th place (Division One)
  • 2002: 6th place (Division One)
  • 2004: Division Two winners
  • 2006: 5th place (Division One)
  • 2008: 5th place (Division One)
  • 2010: 6th place (Division One)


Italy boasts a number of current and ex-professionals. The following national team players have played first-class or List A cricket:

Playing Squad



ICC ECL Div 1 2013 ICC WCL Div 3 2013
Alessandro Bonora
Andrew Northcote
Carl Sandri
Damian Crowley  (capt)
Damian Fernando (wkt) Rome
Dilan Fernando Arksakulasuriya Olgiata
Din Alaud Trentino
Dinidu Marage Rome
Fida Hussain Trentino
Gayashan Muansinghe Rome
Hayden Patrizi Dell’agnello
Luis Di Giglio Plateau
Michael Raso
Peter Petricola
Vincenzo Pennazza
Warnakulasuriya Fernando Kingsgrove